To: Attorneys, Realtors, Researchers, Mortgage Companies,

Financial Institutions
Town Clerk
June 4, 2019

From:
Date:

Vermont recording fees will increase

effective July 1, 2019.

Below is a summary of the changes. Please plan accordingly so there is
no delay in processing your recordings due to a shortage of fees.

Summary of Vermont Recording Fee Changes
Per H.526 (approved by VT Legislature 2019 session)

32 V.S.A. §1671

Effective: July 1, 2019

FORMER FEE NEW FEE
Document recording fees $10/page $15/page
PTTR (Property transfer tax return) $10/document | $15/document
Survey plat recording fees $15/sheet $25/sheet
Certified copy of records (no change) $10/page $10/page
Examination of records (vault time) $2/hour $4/hour

* Documents include all items recorded in the land records (deeds,
mortgages, assignments, liens, releases, permits)

* Multiple assighments or releases included on one document are charged

$15/assignment or release.

Fairfax does not charge for time in the vault.

Contact the Clerk’s office with any questions.




